Medical Billing Forum

Coding => Coding => Topic started by: mbspecialsit on July 07, 2010, 03:23:43 PM

Title: Medicare preop
Post by: mbspecialsit on July 07, 2010, 03:23:43 PM
Can someone help me with this please?

Now that Medicare no longer pays for preop clearance, how are we suppossed to be billing for the
preop labs? Most surgeons request preop labs for the patient. And the patients are being held responsible 
for the bill. When they call the lab for an explanantion, they are being told that the PCP needs to call
to change the codes, but the correct codes were used. The patient are upset as they think that we
submitted the wrong codes, even after I have explained that Medicare no longer covers preop visit/labs.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Title: Re: Medicare preop
Post by: PMRNC on July 07, 2010, 05:04:22 PM
Thats an old excuse..the insurance company tells them those codes are not covered and the patient hears "Get the codes changed"  ??? :D   Patients should be given the Medicare ABN.