Author Topic: participating providers  (Read 1348 times)

Charles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
participating providers
« on: January 28, 2009, 12:55:37 PM »
Hello,

We run a diagnosis lab and currently have a problem with payment from private insurance companies.
I am wondering if there is a blanket approach to sign-up with private insurance companies to register as a participating provider.  We are currently not getting paid for some claims we submit saying that we are out of network.

Pay_My_Claims

  • Guest
Re: participating providers
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 01:32:01 PM »
I don't understand what you mean by blanket approach??
I can tell you that providers will contract with specialty providers (DME, Labs etc) and close out to other providers. We are a DME vendor, and the major payers, BCBSNC, Cigna, UHC, have contracted DME providers and WILL NOT ACCEPT any more. They are closed and this limits clients from going to where they want to. We get told all the time, we are not in net work,and I always reply YOU ARE NOT ACCEPTING PROVIDERS!! So we have to collect from your clients and we charge them the full cost. Seems like you will need a good collections team to get the money from the clients.

Charles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: participating providers
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 01:40:50 PM »
Thanks

Michele

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4770
    • Solutions Medical Billing
Re: participating providers
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2009, 07:55:05 PM »
There is no blanket approach.  You have to contact each insurance carrier individually and ask what you need to do to become in network. 

Michele
Sign Up for our FREE Medical Billing Newsletter
Get a 10% discount on Medical Billing Products by using Coupon Code: 10OFF
http://www.solutions-medical-billing.com

Pay_My_Claims

  • Guest
Re: participating providers
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2009, 09:24:14 PM »
You are welcome...and yes what Michelle said is true. If you meant blanket approach as a 1 stop shop to be in network with multiple providers...nope each 1 has to be done separately.