Author Topic: Medicare corrections  (Read 406 times)

stellerdobes

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Medicare corrections
« on: January 08, 2021, 03:34:51 PM »
I need to correct a few medicare claims.  trying to do it in my system. 
My options are 6 for correction of claim
7 for replacement 8 to void/cancel
I did them with a 6 and got an error message Medicare only accepts claim frequency code of 1. 
So do I need to go through Medicare site to correct these ?
I use Kaero if that makes a differnce

Michele

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5810
    • Solutions Medical Billing
Re: Medicare corrections
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2021, 04:00:05 PM »
I am not familiar with Kareo.  We do our corrections thru Connex.  I would have thought it was a 7 though.  Do you have support thru Kareo?
Sign Up for our FREE Medical Billing Newsletter
Get a 10% discount on Medical Billing Products by using Coupon Code: 10OFF
http://www.solutions-medical-billing.com

stellerdobes

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Medicare corrections
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2021, 06:36:17 PM »
Yes I have support and they are saying to use the the frequency code 1

Michele

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5810
    • Solutions Medical Billing
Re: Medicare corrections
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2021, 12:21:43 PM »
Did you try using '1'?  If that's what Kareo is saying, and that's what Medicare is requiring, I would try using "1".

If that doesn't work, do you have online access to your Medicare portal?  We do ours directly thru the portal and it's super easy.
Sign Up for our FREE Medical Billing Newsletter
Get a 10% discount on Medical Billing Products by using Coupon Code: 10OFF
http://www.solutions-medical-billing.com

stellerdobes

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Medicare corrections
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2021, 01:20:05 PM »
yes tried the one and its coming back as duplicate claims.  Yes have access to the portal and do them there

Michele

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5810
    • Solutions Medical Billing
Re: Medicare corrections
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2021, 02:26:33 PM »
Sorry I'm not familiar with Kareo.  I guess the only option is to do them thru the portal. :(
Sign Up for our FREE Medical Billing Newsletter
Get a 10% discount on Medical Billing Products by using Coupon Code: 10OFF
http://www.solutions-medical-billing.com

jenniferp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Medicare corrections
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2021, 11:43:06 AM »
We work with Palmetto as our MAC and they don't allow "normal" corrected claims using 7 on the claim to show correction.  We have to go thru the Palmetto eservices website and do the "simple reopening" of a claim or call customer service and do the reopening over the phone.  They will let you add/remove/change modifiers, change diagnosis codes, simple corrections that need to be made.  If it's more involved and  can't be done, they usually let us know.

Hope this helps.

Jennifer

Kerri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Medicare corrections
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2021, 01:11:55 PM »
Stellar, when you ask Kareo for help always ask for GINGER, she is THE BOMB

kristin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
Re: Medicare corrections
« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2021, 01:44:59 AM »
Depending upon the "correction" you may not need a code at all with Kareo. I use this software daily, and have never needed a code, when resubmitting claims.

Medical Billing Forum

Re: Medicare corrections
« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2021, 01:44:59 AM »